Nigersaurus

Version: Pack de dinosaures herbivores

Classification

AlimentationHerbivore
HabitatTerrestre
ÈreCrétacé moyen
FamilleRebbachisauridae
GenreNigersaurus
Groupe BioHerbivore géant

Dimensions

Taille (m)2
Longueur (m)9
Poids (kg)4,000

Note

Attrait de base42
Attrait (Par 1MM$.)129.2
Attrait (Par hectare)105.0
Attrait de baseAttrait (Par 1MM$.)Attrait (Par hectare)
Nigersaurus
Médiane

Statistiques

Espérance de vie68 - 107
Résistance56
Attaque24
Défense0
Résistance aux fléchettes tranquillisantes106
Résistance aux sédatifs106
Résistance au poison100

Besoins environnementaux

Seuil de confort50%
Prairie (m2)1000050%
Forêt (m2)1000050%
Paléobotanique préféréeConifèresConifères
Fougères arborescentesFougères arborescentes
GinkgoGinkgo
Paléobotanique nuisibleAsiminier trilobéAsiminier trilobé
MoussesMousses
PrêlesPrêles

Préférences de cohabitation

Groupe social2 - 8
Population idéale0 - 25

Conditions de déverrouillage

Déverrouillé grâce au prélèvement d'un fossile sur l'un des sites de fouilles suivants :

Sites de fouillesQualité des fossilesQuantité de fossilesLieuxDuréeCoût
Lits de Tegama13Afrique | Niger | Désert du Ténéré02:00$105,000
210
37

Incubation

Durée01:40 - 02:00
Coût325,000

Maladie

ImmuniséRhinite
VulnérableIntoxication par fougère-aigle

Description

Nigersaurus, ou « lézard du Niger », tient son nom du pays où il a été découvert. C'est un sauropode de la famille des Rebbachisauridae, qui vivait au Crétacé inférieur. Mesurant 9 mètres de long et pesant environ 4 tonnes (le poids d'un éléphant), ce dinosaure est considéré comme l'un des plus petits sauropodes. Son cou étant assez court et difficile à soulever, il est probable qu'il se soit nourri en priorité de plantes au sol et non sur des arbres de grande taille.Ses os comportaient de nombreux interstices réduisant la densité de son squelette. Cette adaptation devait réduire l'énergie nécessaire pour se déplacer, un atout majeur pour les dinosaures des régions tropicales. Nigersaurus est surtout connu pour sa mâchoire droite et très large, qui comptait plus de 500 dents.

Découverte

Les premiers fossiles de Nigersaurus ont été décrits dans une publication de 1976 par le paléontologue français Philippe Taquet, à la suite d'une expédition en République du Niger cinq ans plus tôt. Il a néanmoins fallu attendre 1999 pour que le paléontologue américain Paul Sereno, après une expédition ayant permis d'obtenir d'autres fossiles, le renomme Nigersaurus. Le nom de l'espèce, taqueti, est un hommage à Philippe Taquet.Son crâne a été l'un des premiers spécimens à être examiné au scanner. Ces images ont révélé que derrière chacune des incisives de la mâchoire se trouvaient jusqu'à neuf dents, prêtes à remplacer toute dent élimée.

Paléoécologie

Nigersaurus vivait sur les berges de fleuves et rivières, et se nourrissait probablement de plantes nécessitant beaucoup d'eau. Si l'on en croit le nombre de fossiles découverts, il s'agissait d'un dinosaure très commun dans son habitat. Nigersaurus a probablement partagé son environnement avec le piscivore Suchomimus, d'autres herbivores géants et le crocodilien Sarcosuchus, surnommé « SuperCroc ».

Occurrences dans d'autres jeux sur Paléo.GG

Paleo.GG

Jeux

Jurassic World AliveJurassic World Evolution 2Jurassic World: le jeuJurassic World Primal OpsJurassic World EvolutionJurassic Park: Operation Genesis

Paleo.GG n'est pas affilié aux détenteurs des droits d'auteur du jeu, tels que © Universal City Studios LLC, © Amblin Entertainment Inc, © Ludia Inc, © Frontier Developments PLC, et © Behaviour Interactive Inc, et n'y souscrit pas.

Le logo de l'application est réalisé par Smashicons.

Nigersaurus

Release Version: Herbivore Dinosaur Pack

Classification

DietHerbivore
HabitatTerrestrial
EraMiddle Cretaceous
FamilyRebbachisauridae
GenusNigersaurus
Bio GroupGiant Herbivore

Size

Height (m)2
Length (m)9
Weight (kg)4,000

Rating

Base Appeal42
Appeal (Per $1MM)129.2
Appeal (Per Hectare)105.0
Base AppealAppeal (Per $1MM)Appeal (Per Hectare)
Nigersaurus
Median

Stats

Lifespan68 - 107
Resilience56
Attack24
Defence0
Medical Dart Resistance106
Sedative Resistance106
Poison Resistance100

Environmental Needs

Comfort threshold50%
Grassland (m2)1000050%
Forest (m2)1000050%
Preferred PaleobotanyConifersConifers
Tree FernsTree Ferns
GinkgoGinkgo
Harmful PaleobotanyPaw PawPaw Paw
MossesMosses
HorsetailsHorsetails

Cohabitation Preferences

Social Group2 - 8
Ideal Population0 - 25

Unlock requirements

Unlocked by retrieving the fossil from one of the following dig sites:

Dig SitesFossil QualityFossil QuantityLocationsDurationCost
Tegama Beds13Africa | Niger | Tenere Desert02:00$105,000
210
37

Incubation

Duration01:40 - 02:00
Cost325,000

Disease

ImmuneCommon Cold
SusceptibleBracken Poisoning

Description

Nigersaurus, meaning "Niger reptile" in reference to its discovery location, is a Sauropod in the Rebbachisauridae family from the middle Cretaceous period. At 9 meters long, and weighing around four tonnes (around the weight of an elephant), this dinosaur was one of the smallest Sauropods. Due to its short neck, that it would have struggled to lift, Nigersaurus likely browsed low-lying plants, rather than taller trees.Nigersaurus may have had a lot of air spaces in its bones, lowering the density of its skeleton. This adaptation could have reduced the energy required to move, an important quality for dinosaurs that inhabit tropical areas. This dinosaur is primarily known for its unusually wide and straight mouth, lined with more than 500 teeth.

Discovery

The first possible remains of Nigersaurus were described in a 1976 paper by French paleontologist Philippe Taquet, following an expedition to the Republic of Niger around five years earlier. It was not until 1999, however, that Nigersaurus was named by the American paleontologist Paul Sereno, the leader of an expeditions that recovered more material. The specific name taqueti pays homage to TaquetThe original skull is one of the first dinosaur specimens to be examined with a CT scan. These scans revealed that each cutting tooth in the skull had up to nine teeth stacked behind it, ready to replace any teeth that were worn out.

Paleoecology

Nigersaurus lived around riverbanks, and likely fed on plants that needed lots of water to grow. It is possible that Nigersaurus was one of the more common dinosaurs in its habitat, based on the frequency at which fossils are discovered. Nigersaurus would have shared its habitat with Suchomimus, a carnivore that preyed on fish, in addition to other megaherbivore dinosaurs, and Sarcosuchus, colloquially known as 'SuperCroc'.

Elsewhere on Paleo.GG

Jurassic World Evolution 2
Nigersaurus

Nigersaurus

Paleo.GG

Games

Jurassic World AliveJurassic World: The GameJurassic World Evolution 2Jurassic World EvolutionJurassic World Primal OpsJurassic Park: Operation Genesis

Paleo.GG is not affiliated with or endorsed by copyright holders of the game, such as © Universal City Studios LLC, © Amblin Entertainment Inc, © Ludia Inc, © Frontier Developments PLC, and © Behaviour Interactive Inc.

App logo is made by Smashicons.